Picture of Melody Bliss So Who

Is This Melody Person Anyway?

| Home | Ham Radio | About Me | Blog | Gallery |

Name: Melody Bliss (formally Melody Yoon)
Birthday: 26 September 1972
Anniversary: 14 November 2004

As you've probably guessed by now, my name is Melody Bliss and I'm married to a great guy named Neil. :) Since you've come to this page, you're probably wondering who I am. Well, you can see some of my ramblings over at Blogger/Blogspot and you can see some of my cooking recipes and how-to's over at Multiply. And what do I sound like? Well, there's a short recording that you can listen to.

I have several hobbies that I really enjoy. I cycle on a daily basis since I commute to work. Yup, on a bicycle, and it's fun and great exercise. I also used to be an avid tennis player but haven't really played in years. Just not enough time between work and other hobbies.

I'm also a very strong supporter of the 2nd Amendment and I am a Patron member of the National Rifle Association. (What can I say. I grew up in Texas.) I shoot on a regular basis and I'm a huge proponent of firearm education. If you own a gun, you really should consider getting training to learn how to shoot the firearm correctly.

I can't forget to mention that I am also a Amateur Radio (Ham) Operator. Plus, I'm a certified ARRL Volunteer Examiner (VE) and I help out over at the Cupertino VE Session helping grade exams. I hold an Extra ticket and my callsign is KF6RMW.

And yes, I can do morse code.

I'm still heavily involved in pen and paper role playing games. D&D, GURPS, etc., it is all good. I have a regular group that my husband and I play with on Fridays. Really helps relieve the stress generated by the work week. Nothing like slaying orcs to liven up the weekend. ;)

Another hobby that I used to share with my husband (who got me involved in it. It's his fault) is Rallying. We used to rally a Subaru WRX and have been in races such as Rim of the World Rally held in Palmdale, California. For people who are looking for it, I have detailed instructions for installing a Terratrip DSI probe into a 2002 Subaru WRX.

Aside from hobbies, what else am I? Well, I'm Korean, Catholic and Bisexual. The last two can really throw people in for a loop. :) I'm married and I have two wonderful step-daughters.

I've worked for several companies. Currently, I'm currently working at Apple as part of the Online Store Engineering team. Previously, I worked at Netli and before that, I was again at Taos doing some architecture work at Apple. Before Apple, I was at Microsoft's MSN Hotmail.

I have also worked for Collective Technologies (as a consultant) and Taos before CT. While at Taos I've been at Global Village, Sun and SGI. Taos pulled me to the west coast from the east coast where I worked at Surf Network, VoiceNet and Unisys. My very first job, however, was as a partner at Thrax Computer Solutions, Inc. where I did Systems Integration work as a consultant to clients. However, some may consider my work at the University of Texas at Dallas Center for Space Sciences as my first job. But, I like to point out that I wasn't paid for that work. I got involved in the work there since I cost the department nothing and it allowed me to get involved in research as an underclassman.

Unfortunately, I have several medical issues. I'm a Type II Diabetic and I have severe hypertension. I am also a survivor of a stroke and I beat my doctors' estimates of my early demise at 25 from Nephrotic Syndrome. Unfortunately, in September of 2008, my kidneys finally failed and I am now on hemodialysis. Luckily, Stanford Hospital's Kidney and Pancreas Transplant Clinic has accepted me into their kidney transplant program, so I am now awaiting a cadaver kidney.